Book Recommendation – Middle Grade

The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre

By Gail Carson Levine

First, can I just say that Gail Carson Levine is one of my literary heroes? She, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and Lois Lowry make up my bookshelf dream team. So when I got to MEET Ms. Levine at her newest book event, I may or may not have cried. 

18252574_1522633804437772_2226395636180189184_n

Nope. Yep. Totally cried.

All that to say, her newest book, The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre, is a golden one. When a young girl finds out she’s been raised as a member of the “elite” race while truthfully, secretly, belonging to the “lower class,” she has tough choices to make. It’s up to her to not only bring the kingdom together, but to save it entirely. 

Bamarre
image from Amazon.com

Y’ALL. Levine does a splendid, sensitive job of tackling prejudice within the whimsical fantasy worlds she is so gifted at building. 

Highly recommend. 

Who will love this book: Upper middle grade readers who love ANY of Levine’s books, or readers who love Lois Lowry’s Number the Stars or The Giver will greatly enjoy this read.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s